Who we are

The Democracy and Media Foundation is an equity fund. The biggest share of our capital is invested in  media companies, namely De Persgroep Nederland (i.a. De Volkskrant, Trouw and Het Algemeen Dagblad) and MediaHuis Nederland (NRC Handelsblad and nrc.next). With these investments, we support truth-finding and plurality within the Dutch media landscape. We are also one of the initiators of the European Press Prize and we have a minority interest in digital native De Correspondent.

The rest of our capital is invested with the ASN Bank and the Triodos Bank. We use the returns of these investments to support initiatives and organizations which contribute to a strong and honest constitutional democracy as well as independent media. Among others, we support publications, lectures, documentaries, technological innovations, exhibitions, prizes in journalism and training for journalists.


Do you have a question for a member of our staff or our supervisory board? Please contact us via info@stdem.org.



Nienke Venema
Executive director

Nienke is responsible for general leadership, business management, strategic development and the external representation of the Democracy and Media Foundation.


Nadja Groot
Program Manager

Nadja deals with incoming applications, but also actively seeks out initiatives that contribute to the aims of the Democracy and Media Foundation, for example by writing and coordinating applications. She also contributes to our business management.


Karlijn Bink
Bureau coordinator

Karlijn is both the first contact as well as the center of operations of the foundation. Besides office management, she also measures incoming applications to the foundation’s aims, deals with applications and coordinates the yearly 5th of February Memorial service.

20160520-IMG_0943 (1)

Willem Lenders
Program Officer

Willem deals with incoming applications and supports the program manager with actively seeking out initiatives that contribute to the aims of the Democracy and Media Foundation. Furthermore, he organizes events and meetings.


Maartje Eigeman
Program manager

Maartje is responsible for the priority Muslim discrimination of the Democracy and Media Foundation. She deals with incoming applications, gives organisational advise if desired and actively seeks out initiatives on this topic. Furthermore Maartje is developing a program on capacity building within this priority.


Supervisory Board


Alex Brenninkmeijer


Judith Brandsma


Heikelien Verrijn Stuart


Caspar Scholten


Idriss Nor



The Democracy and Media Foundation regularly works with advisors who help with the assessment of applications. You will find a list of our current advisors here shortly.